THE LOST VIOLIN

Violin and roses black and white
Oh, those hours I spent
taming the wild strings
of the violin

the horsehair I caressed
and coaxed
to produce the sweetest melody
that haunted my dreams

yes, those times
when my soul floated
with the tearful notes
of my fiddling

music absorbing
my being
rising to the heavens
as of angels
praising

music
voice of a father
comforting

Those days
with my violin
and dreams
I remember so well

Come again.

~~~~

dVERSE POets’ Poetics wants  us to ‘try to remember’  when we write our post for this weekend’s prompt.   There are so many things that one of a certain age (and even not of a certain age) can remember. 🙂 However, yesterday, I took some photographs of my old violin.  Tonight, while still replying to some blog comments about my violin playing (or, more accurately, lack thereof), I knew what memory I would write about.  The above photo is part of the batch that I took yesterday.  The colored version was posted in a previous post.

Thank you for coming by.  🙂 Have a great week,

27 comments

  1. you’re playing the violin – so very cool…i find it is an awesome instrument – just this weekend we were at a wedding and there was a string quartet – three violins and a cello player – really i could’ve listened to them for hours.. ah – one can get lost in music…

    • Thanks, Brenda. 🙂 You are right, those times and the dream to play will always languish somewhere at the back of my head especially since it seems the dream is so unattainable. 🙂

    • I wish you well. It is exciting and very rewarding learn music. I brought a Piano for Dummy Book once and it is languishing in the shelf. Oh, by the way, I found that there are Youtube tutorials although I suppose you may know about those already. 🙂

  2. love the poem… an ‘ode’ of sorts to the instruments that so often get ‘left behind’ as we leave our youth. I think I’ve lost count of the instruments in this house alone that I’ve paid for (the kids’) that have laid dormant for years.. 😦 But! There’s a violin at the back of the hallway, that one of these days when life slows down a tiny, I’m gonna pick up and learn since noone else is! (& I didn’t pay for this one! ha!)

  3. I can relate because I loved my piano, and can no longer can use my arms but, I’ve read~ 18 Whatever principle of intelligence we attain unto in this life, it will rise with us in the resurrection. We will regain this blessing too!

    • You are so kind, Diane. The truth, however, is my love for music is greater than whatever talent – if there be any – I have. Only my mother will admire my violin playing and after some moment, I think she will beg me to stop because I am denying her her peace and quiet. 🙂

  4. What can’t you do Imelda??? 🙂
    Thank you for the beautiful, beautiful shot and a heartfelt poem. Here’s wishing you get to spend more days with your violin again!

Leave a Reply

