WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: COLORS

The Crocus and the Bee

Well, hello there!
I’m glad to see again
your familiar face

gracing this place,
without life before you came,
smiling its welcome.

Purple Crocus1

I was afraid
to venture into the world
’til warm winds

with  breathy voice
carried the rush of water
washing snow away

Bee and Crocus2

revealing life beneath.
The time for hiding’s over.
Our work begins –

let’s bring color
and sweetness all around us
while time permits

Bee and Crocus

building happy memories
to carry a soul through
winter’s dark days.

~~~

It’s wonderful to see flowers in the ground once more.  Thank God for crocuses – they  shorten the wait for colors.

Just some crocus trivia –

Saffron is from a crocus species called Saffron Crocus.

According to Hellenic legend, Crocus (before he became a flower, obviously!) was a handsome young man who fell in love with the nymph Smilax.  At first, Smilax was thrilled by Crocus attention but soon tire of him.  Crocus, not getting the hint, continued his pursuit of the lady.  The lady got irritated (pardon me, this is my retelling 😉  and turned him into a flower – yes, the one we know today.  As in life, Crocus is still the rushing handsome thing in his flower form.  That’s why Crocus rushes to greet spring.

Well, some nicer versions of the story say that the Gods were so impressed by this ardent love that they turned Crocus to a flower to make him immortal.  Meanwhile, Smilax, heartbroken that Crocus became a plant, decided that she would be one too.  She became a yew.  Oh well.  Though I may have muddled the stories, I am not making them up.  😉

Here are some sources:  Crocus and Smilax; Legend of Crocus;  The Story of Saffron

Please drop by Daily Post at WordPress  for more Color entries.  Thanks for coming by and bearing with my goofy mythology. 🙂

30 thoughts on “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: COLORS

  1. I love it!!!! I think the Old Days were quite complicated with so many gods…But despite everything I love them…I love Greek and Roman mythology…I like to think they are in my Mediterranean blood…

    1. Oh, embrace the legends and the mythology. They are part of your character and your people’s character. 🙂 I like reading the myths. I am amazed to find that many of the stories we have today are just variations of the Greek legends. 🙂

  2. nice…look forward to all the bright colors…and all the smells of spring to make their way back…lovely photos…pretty cool background story on the crocus as well…

  3. building happy memories
    to carry a soul through
    winter’s dark days…ah yes… our vegetation is 3 weeks behind due to a really long and cold winter..can’t wait until spring bursts forth finally

  4. …very beautiful & alluring… could it survive in the kind of atmosphere we have here in the Philippines? coz def mum would love to have ’em in her garden… smiles… a refreshing view & just inspiring…have a great remainder of the week…

Leave a comment