SUMMER

"He has his Summer, when luxuriously
 Spring’s honied cud of youthful thought he loves
 To ruminate, and by such dreaming high
 Is nearest unto heaven:"
 - from "The Human Seasons" by John Keats
  lilies2

I stand in the fullness of the seasons
its flowers are blooming in my hands
the nest is full of fledglings
fruits are heavy in their boughs

Children run barefoot on the green grass
their laughter rend the sultry air
the hearth pulsates with fiery bliss
my love and I say a thankful prayer

My arms are full of the bounties
as only life’s summer brings
I could dwell in here forever
and savor its sweetness all my days.

~~~~

For Poetics, Walter asked the pub habitues to write a summer poem that was inspired by the works of other authors.  John Keats resonated with me, not only because his Ode on a Grecian Urn made me like poetry, but also because I equate my life now with summer. 🙂

 

DVerse Open Link Night

9 thoughts on “SUMMER

  1. I too can dwell in the bounty of summer, sounds so blissful with the sounds of children laughter. A lovely picture too Imelda.

Leave a comment