AT THE END OF THE DAY (For DVerse)

All things pass
and at the end of the day
I have nothing but the memories
that I wish I could sift through
to separate the good from the bad
as though I can
separate the rose from its thorns.
So I go on
balancing between joy and regret
waiting for time
to make them all a dream.

 

Rose

DVERSE Poets’ Pub’s Marina Sofia asks us to answer “Those Pesky Questions of Identity”.  I chose the question – “What lingers when all is said and done?”   Thank you Marina for this chance at introspection.

Visit the Pub for more responses and for plenty of beautiful writing.  🙂   Thank you for coming by.

 

18 thoughts on “AT THE END OF THE DAY (For DVerse)

  1. What a delightful poem for a wonderful prompt. I’m looking forward to heading over to ‘The Pub’, it looks like my kind of place…thanks so much Imelda for the link 🙂

  2. I specially love this part;

    balancing between joy and regret
    waiting for time
    to make them all a dream.

    Beautiful reflections Imelda ~

Leave a comment