IF ONLY (WPC: Solitude)

“We live, in fact, in a world starved for solitude, silence, and private: and therefore starved for meditation and true friendship.” ~ C.S. Lewis

solitude-bw2

Somewhere in the day, between duties and daydreams
Solitude awaits to dispense her blessings –
a book of introduction to people I would never have known,
words in a jumble wishing to become a poem
There could even be music to highlight the mood
the sweetness of cake and warmth of coffee, dark and bold.

Of course, I will help myself to all of those
if only I could find this Solitude’s repose.

 

~~~~

WPC:  Solitude

26 thoughts on “IF ONLY (WPC: Solitude)

  1. What a delicious post, Imelda. That looks like a lovely snack there. Hope it hit the spot. I’m guessing you have some left over 😉 I like how you say books are an introduction to the unknown. How true. They can take us places and anywhere. Wishing you well this week 😊

    1. Thanks, Mabel. I think it is my ultimate relaxation – having coffee and sweet bread and books and time to think. 🙂 I made that cupcake, too. It is a Filipino recipe that I just learned and was happy to be able to make. It brings me back to a time to life. 🙂

      1. Waaaa. You can bake, Imelda. I am sure it tasted great and took you back to good memories, and hope you get to make another batch at some point. A good reason for me to come over… 🙂

      2. It tasted good! Ah, when I got married, I knew nothing about cooking, much less baking. Necessity dictated that I learn how to do such things and I am happier that I learned somehow. I thought I was a hopeless case. 🙂

  2. Your picture say a thousand words. I can relate to it (except that maybe I would have a slice of red velvet cake and moist chocolate cake at the same time). LOL! With my husband of 37 yrs., words don’t need to be spoken most of the times. Sometimes, it’s great to be quiet and reflect in solitude, and other times, some moments to laugh together in complete abandon.

    1. You dropped a pleasant surprise. I would not have known if you had not told me. Thank you very much. (I also first heard about the Discover section of WP from you.) 🙂

  3. Beautiful post.Loved each and every line of the poem.The simplicity of the words yet the powerful impact of the entire piece is truly amazing!Glad to have read it!Thank You!

Leave a comment