WILD WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: GREEN

At this time of the year, it is hard to see green anywhere around our place.  Especially not after a big snowstorm which covered the evergreens we have.  During the night, we heard rattling sounds as of breaking glass on our outside wall.   A little before midnight, while watching a suspenseful scene in CHUCK, the power went off.   My husband and I were forced to retire early and were glad that he was able to get canned cooking gel from Walmart late in the afternoon.   However, thank God for the efficient power company, electricity was restored in the wee hours of the morning.

This was the scene which greeted us the snowstorm.

Lamp post
This is the lamp post by our front steps.

It was a wet snow and it clung to the boughs.

EvergreenSome greens tried to peek from the weight of their snow covering –

Rhododendron
The rhododendron bush by our side porch.

Evergreen2

The sound of shovels scraping snow and snowblowers echoed in the neighborhood.

Neighbors
I guess it was bonding time for people in our street. 🙂 The neighbor from across the street who had a John Deere push snowblower came over to help my husband remove the snow blocking our driveway. That saved my husband 45 minutes of shoveling time.
motorbike
I was trying to take a photo of my husband shoveling the snow when this guy in the motorbike zoomed in. It was so unexpected that I did not have a chance to take aim at him. Why should one be on a bike on a road like this anyway?  Maybe, he wanted some speed, so I helped him along by blurring things around him . 😉

There was a lot of snow on the road that snowplows worked non-stop from night to day to night.

MACK

I never really thought I could join the Green challenge.  But while I was looking at the pictures of the clean-up day, I saw touches of green everywhere.  And Big MACK just begged to be in the party. 🙂

MACK Truck

Thank you for coming by. 🙂 Have a great day.
I’m participating in the online adventure travel and photography magazine LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggersThis week’s Challenge is: Green!

10 comments

  1. The snow lovers in south central Pa live for the Nor’easters, but it bypassed us this time. With all of the headaches, and even some danger, the one thing I always loved about getting a few feet of snow was how everything somehow just stopped, and all got quiet (too quiet if the electricity was out) and the neighbors all bundled up and met in the white stuff. And neighbor helping neighbor amidst the sounds of delighted and awed children just brings a warmth not often shared… 🙂

  2. So beautiful pictures Imelda….I bet you had a great (and cold) time….I like all of them, but I find very sweet the first one…I can imagine the neighbourhood at night, glowing with a magical light…

  3. Green would be easy in the springtime, wouldn’t it? I love your winter pictures. We don’t get snow here, so I think it’s just beautiful. Then again, I don’t have to shovel it, either 🙂

Leave a Reply

