WHEN THE DUST SETTLES

When the dust settles, you will see
I am not the monster you painted me to be.
When you cast me on the side of wrong
“The Enemy!” had been your battlesong
Your lyrics slandered my name
Your voice throbbed with anger and disdain.

When the dust settles, you will see
this face you marked as enemy
is not much different from your own
it shows sorrows and joys you’ve known
my eyes may even mirror your dreams
that gave your own life its rhythm.

When the dust settles, you will see
from the same Hand we came to be
the Hand that disbelief set aside
that Hand that some choose to abide
It’s the hand where sought for peace dwells
but which we’ll see only when the dust settles.

_______________

I am linking with DVERSE Poets Open Link Night.  This was originally written for the Truce/Armistice Theme but I did not get to finish it in time. 🙂

12 comments

    • Thanks, Janna. True, when we begin thinking like brothers and responsible to our parents for our brothers, there will be less quarrel. And if there is any – as there will be because siblings quarrel just because- the quarrel will not be as bitter. I guess, I am thinking of a utopian world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

