WINTER BLUES

I surely have no love lost for winter.
The freezing days discourage outdoor fun
and leave me some bored and restless children
whose yelling make me yell even louder.
Often, I find myself checking the weather,
hoping the day would bring the warmer sun.
I pray the long nights do not get me undone
while waiting for tulips to flower.

But wasn’t it in December when I
met my love? Wasn’t the ground with new snow
when he and I said our solemn vows?
Wasn’t it winter when our son’s cry
brightened the birthing room? Grateful, I sigh
reliving the joys that make winter glow.

Written for DVERSE POETS Poetry Form – The Sonnet.  I wrote a Shakespearean sonnet for the previous prompt, here,  so this time, I tried my hand at writing a Petrarchan sonnet.  Thanks for reading. 🙂

39 thoughts on “WINTER BLUES

  1. Very unusual, like spoken voice, so realistic about being trapped inside with kids, and then I love the ‘volta’. It makes the experience turn into poetry and a different insight.

  2. lovely take on the form Imelda, from not liking winter, you state your argument so clearly!! and then the solution was perfect, reads like a page out of a day book listing all the beautiful things that mean so much to you in the season you cannot wait to turn over. really lovely

  3. I struggle with winter, but do try to seek the little beauty and joys. It sounds like you have some great memories to lean into on the gray days of winter. 🙂

    1. Happily, yes. 🙂

      Just a a few more weeks for us not-so-winter lovers and we can see new growth again. Ah, except that hereabouts, snow does begin to fall in January. Eh.

      1. We had an early snowfall in December and a dusting this month. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we don’t get too much this year. 🙂

  4. I love the turn of winter’s gloom and sadness to one to happy memories of your life. I too hate winter and really look forward to a warmer weather. Enjoyed your sonnet Imelda.

  5. I like the way the light of Winter gradually illuminates in your words in the second stanza, bringing gratitude for even the gloomiest season of all! Lovely to read, Imelda.

  6. I really like the story and it’s always a mystery how the seasons can be full of opposite life experiences and contradictions …birth in winter, death in the spring. In the end there seems to be balance. Sweet sonnet.

Leave a comment