YET ANOTHER AUTUMN POEM ACHING FOR A TITLE

AUTUMN IN A MINOR KEY**

It’s a lonely march to winter
Lamentations rend the air
for lives lost too soon like leaves
prematurely drummed out by the rains.

The river flows like an old man
lost in his solitude
shuffling to the unbroken rhythm
in minor key that aches for an ending.

Emptied spaces stretch above and below
inviting the song of the keening wind
while dead leaves pool on the ground
and skeletons reach for the heavens

offering all in them  has remained
and still, bequeathing the world their wisdom –
The meditation of life
does not end in a grave.

 

I saw POETS UNITED’s midweek motiff on my FB Feed.  Since it is about Autumn and I need a little outlet to vent some frustration, I thought I had to write inspired or not.  I did not know where I was going but I liked that ‘lonely march to winter’  bit  because I did not feel so upbeat when I began writing the poem.   Happy midweek everybody!  🙂

**The title is based on the suggestion of LuAnne Holder.  Thanks, LuAnne, for the lovely suggestion. 🙂

22 comments

  1. I picked the same line as Sarah to highlight. Wow. It’s Such a right-on image that it has changed my perception of autumn. I acknowledge the love/hate relationship just as I take on the age myself.

    • Hi Mabel. Thanks, I did feel better after writing. I guess it is the feeling of having accomplished something that brings the lighter mood. 🙂 Yeah, I do hope it will be a mild-ish winter this year. A little snow for making snowmen will still be appreciated though (as long as they melt quickly). 🙂

  2. You reeled me in with your wonderful title! Nice to see you at Midweek! I LOVE imagining the river as an old man. How imaginative! And your closing lines are very powerful. A strong poem. I enjoyed it very much. Especially solitary old man river……..

    • Thank you very much for the kind words, Sherry. I was lucky to see the FB notification. I was surprised to see notifications from Poets’ United lately. Is being active in FB a more recent thing for PU or I just missed the notices all this time? Anyway, I am glad I caught it this time. 🙂

  3. It’s amazing what comes out of a pen or pencil or keyboard if you just start writing. I enjoyed reading the fruit of your frustration.

Leave a Reply

