EXHORTATION

Work hard, my son. Success does not simply happen.
 A butterfly is most graceful when it is flying.
What joy you will find in the work of your hand

creating beauty, making a difference
 in the lives you touch. Though it can be tiring
 Work hard, my son. Success does not simply happen

regardless of how hard you wish or imagine
 You do not become a better man by whining.
 What joy you will find in the work of your hand

offered to others in service and compassion.
 Remember, idle souls are the devil's darling-
 Work hard, my son. Success does not simply happen.

The most valuable treasures are deeply hidden
 and open themselves to hearts persevering.
 What joy you will find in the work of your hand -

to know that more precious than fame or fortune
 is living your reason for existing.
 rewards far more precious than fame or fortune
 are a good character and a life with meaning.
 Work hard, my son. Success does not simply happen.
 What joy you will find in the work of your hands!

 

Image may contain: one or more people, shoes, tree, child, sky, grass, outdoor and nature
This is a random photo I chose to post here. I feel sad when there is no picture to go with with my post. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

~~~~

Written for DVERSE POETS’ PUB’s Meeting the Bar-Villanelle, Β  inspired by my recurring words to my sons who would rather play games than study their lessons. Β Of course, they do not listen and I do not think they will be thrilled about this piece. Β But maybe, when they are older……. πŸ™‚

 

 

24 comments

  1. Love this encouraging poem to your son, Imelda. Agree with your sentiments here. If we want something, we should be prepared to work for it. What we want won’t always appear in front overnight. A lot of the time we have to go after it and in turn become a better person. Hope you are enjoying walks out and about this summer πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Mabel. I am sure, you have learned the lesson from your mom so well. πŸ™‚

      Yes, we enjoy our walks. We just spent about 2 hours just walking in a state park this afternoon. My husband is shocked to learn that I like walking. I used to complain a lot walking around our neighborhood. I told him, walking in the woods is quite different – safer, quieter, prettier.

      • I too like walking. It is just so relaxing. I hope you get to walk more soon, and take more photos. Enjoy summer and Happy Solstice πŸ™‚

  2. I liked the theme of the joy of working hard. As you develop this idea it implies a good character and a meaningful life through service and compassion. I agree with the message. I liked how the repeated lines emphasized this point. Very nice.

  3. I love the repetition in this poem. As a parent I found myself saying several things over and over to my children. So this really spoke to me as to not only what advice we give our children but how we give it to them through repeatedly expressing our values to them. (Although they might call it nagging! πŸ™‚ )

  4. When they grow a little older, they will realize the wisdom of your words ~ There is joy and satisfaction in working hard for that success ~

Leave a Reply

