BUTTERFLY (WPC: Focus)

 

Yesterday, I was following my husband and children on their way to the woods to shoot some balloons. Formage, Grandpa’s mythical pet, was having a birthday party according to Grandpa and the children were supposed to join in the fun. While I was trying to catch up with the children who happened to be riding on tractor-pulled cart, this Swallowtail fluttered by. I had to change direction and chase the swallowtail instead. I would have loved to capture the butterfly’s perfectly spread wings. But it kept flying from one flower to the next, I had a difficult time obtaining focus. And when I thought I did, I got a rather fuzzy picture of the butterfly but a clear focus on the edge of its wings. In the end, I liked the resulting picture. I got to see the lines of a butterfly’s wings from a different angle. Also, I was able to capture movement which is what a butterfly is.

Meanwhile, on a different kind of focus, I have edited a different shot of a swallowtail for it to be the backdrop for a piece of poem I wrote for a prompt – chrysalism, a new word that I just learned and is defined in the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows (indeed, there is such a thing) as “the amniotic tranquility of being indoors during a thunderstorm, listening to waves of rain pattering against the roof like an argument upstairs, whose muffled words are unintelligible but whose crackling release of built-up tension you understand perfectly.” I think, one way or the other, the piece also reflects focus – focus on who one is and his uniqueness.

Thank you for coming by.  🙂

 

WPC:  FOCUS

5 comments

  1. Beautiful capture!
    That’s interesting, the word ‘chrysalism’; reminds me of the Danish concept of “hygge”. And thanks for introducing me to that ‘Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows’ -something I look forward to exploring.

Leave a Reply

