EVANESCENT


If I could hold the fragrance of a rose
and make it last, I would. But I cannot
as I cannot hold the music that flows
and calms the sorrows of my human lot.
How glorious are the sunbeams that throw
golden rings around dandelion puffs
yet neither light nor puff wishes to stay
soon one fades while the other sails away. 


One moment, I am as I am,  then I
am not. Changes happen though I sit still - 
in ways  small or great in  the blink of an eye
Is there a place into which the hours spill
as rivers spill to the seas; where I can fly
and relive the sweet  moments  at my  will.
Yet  when remembrance brings all back to fore
I see how endings are also a favor.

WPC: Evanescent
DVerse Poets’ FOrm For All – Ottava Rima

27 comments

  1. So much beauty in this. A couple of favorite lines: “how glorious are the sunbeams that throw golden rings around dandelion puffs” and “is there a place into which the hours spill as rivers spill to the seas.” Evanescent is probably one of my favorite words, so the title really caught my attention.

    • Thank you very much for the kind words. I am drawn to that word as well – it sounds magical. I guess that was why I just had to post one way or another when I saw that as WOrdpress’s challenge theme for the week. 🙂

  2. yet neither light nor puff wishes to stay
    soon one fades while the other sails away.

    Beautiful woodcraft Imelda! The picture reveals very much the idiosyncracies of how different souls react given similar circumstances!

    Hank

  3. “I am as I am, then I am not.” I found this as deep a probe into our existence as Descartes’ axiom was reassuring. We can easily speak of life in cold logic, but it is in the emotions of changes where we find its essence. A very thought-provoking piece indeed, Imelda, which I greatly admire.

Leave a Reply

