MEMORIES IN MY ARMS

 My arms knew music,
the feel of a violin
my fingers knew the places
where the notes sang well

My arms have forgotten
the weight of a violin
but know well the comforting feel
of a baby in their cradle

My fingers have forgotten
the melodies they played
but they  have been quite adept
at eliciting childish giggles

Maybe one day
when the baby becomes a man
my hands will remember
the curves of a violin again.
A disclaimer: Implications of the poem above notwithstanding, I have never been a (good) violin player. At best, I was an intermediate learner. 🙂

DVERSE’s OPEN LINK NIGHT 194

The piece was a response to PAD 20 Challenge which was to write about a memory or something like that.

9 thoughts on “MEMORIES IN MY ARMS”

Leave a Reply

