HALL OF MIRRORS

 I am a hundred faces staring at me
 Unlike Narcissus, I am not thrilled by what I see
 Somehow, the faces are familiar and strange
 all are  distorted, even  grotesquely so -
 and their eyes, their eyes are accusing,
 sad, amused, angry -
 all at once
 Could that be me on the mirror?
 who am I
 who am I
 Where do I stand
 before the Eyes that know
 how the images combine?
 Who is the vision
 who is real -
 the ones I see
 or the one
 I perceive myself to be?
 Where is the truth
 out of this confusion?

For DVERSE’s Poetics Prompt, Lilian wants us to write about amusement parks, rides, state fairs, and such. For this prompt, I bring myself back to the Bangor State Fair in 2012. Contrary to the tone I used in the poem, I had fun in the Mirror Maze. It was one of the rare attractions that I enjoyed at the fair. I really do not enjoy the rides. They make me sick and make me deathly afraid. My poor children can never ever expect me to accompany them in their rides. The one time I was prevailed upon to take them to a kiddie plane ride, I screamed louder than my four year old. I really cannot fathom how people pay to scare themselves silly. πŸ™‚ That’s just me – no offense intended for those who love roller coasters and such.

16 comments

  1. All those mirrors are reflections but not the expected one where the mirror is flat. They might be all a different, but true, perspective. Regardless what they are that house of mirrors can be fun.

  2. “Who is the vision
    who is real –
    the ones I see
    or the one
    I perceive myself to be?”

    I love your philosophical touch in this, Imelda, by comparing our soul-searching experience to a mirror maze adventure. Brilliant and inspiring!

  3. LOVE where you took this one. I’ve been waiting to see if anyone would write about those distorting mirrors or a “fun house.” Great job on it. And — I’m with you on your feeling about the rides….have been for the past 20 years or so. But as a kid? Oh my — gravity defying, pigtails flying, upside down and all around πŸ™‚ The most fun for me at the Aladdins Fun House at Riverview Park was the “entrance” into it….it was a maze of screen doors. The best thing was if you could get there early or at a time when there weren’t too many ahead of you because then you really were walking through the maze, pushing on all the doors until one would give way. I remember laughing hilariously at that part! And the barrel ride too….this round barell was spinning and you had to walk through it. Of course ladies would fall and their skirts would fly up — in those days there was no PC action and it was just plain silly to see petticoats and slips and old lady underpants on everyone πŸ™‚ If you google Riverview Park, barrel in Aladdins and then click on images, I know there’s one there. I forgot to put it in the dVerse prompt I wrote. It’s really been fun to read all these — and so glad you went the mirrors route! πŸ™‚

    • I am glad you liked my take, Lilian. You have such fun memories of a fair. I looked at the park you mentioned and I am awed by the way the ladies mostly remained poised while enjoying the thrills in the park. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Lynn.

      I find it most unsettling when I expect to see a different/nicer face (I do not know why I even have that expectation) and see just plain old me. ha ha ha

  4. I like that you picked the House Of Mirrors. Mirrors show us many things we don’t like. I have a great fear of mirrors in the dark. My imagination always plays the harshest tricks on me in the dark.

Leave a Reply

