HUM A TUNE (A RONDEL)

rose-and-music

Hum a tune when your words seem lost
and refuse to paint the world you see
better than your sulking silence
court back your  muse with melody

Cocooned in your beloved’s arms
hum a tune when your words seem lost
or fail to grasp the depths of love.
A serenade perks  up romance.

When life becomes a lonely place
and even seem so unfair, yet
hum a tune when your words seem lost
and left you nothing but silent tears.

Then cry, feel every bit of pain
knowing that it all too shall pass.
Then you will  dance and exalt or
hum a tune when your words seem lost.

 

~~~

for DVerse Poets’  I’ll Say  It Again and Again prompt. 🙂

8 comments

  1. A rather sad poem, Imelda. But I also feel it is a poem of strength. Life can be so confusing and it doesn’t go according to plan, and when it doesn’t distractions can help. I like to listen to music when times get challenging and sometimes I might let the lyrics guide me. Or I simply just lose myself in the words and tune. We all need these little moments to ourselves to get a grip before facing the chaos once again.

    Best wishes for the year ahead 🙂

    • Oh, I am glad you saw the hope in it. I was just thinking that joy and sorrow are integral to life and there are many moments when words are just not enough to express what we see or feel, etc.

      Sometimes, I lose myself in music as you do. Isn’t it marvelous that music does seem to be our voice and emotions? 🙂

      Best wishes to you, too, Mabel.

      • That is so true for me, that music is also my voice and emotions, apart from writing. The first thing I usually do after work is sit down and listen to music 😀

Leave a Reply

