THE MURDER OF CROWS

feather
Black feathers fell from the skies
the ground cracked under the weight
of the blood-soaked plumes
but shoulders only shrugged
the feathers were from crows -
No one cries
for carrion feeders
who have neither  charm
nor song 
but incantations of dark omens. 
Shoulders shrugged 
as dark feathers rained -
the skies are blue again -
until beneath their feet
the ground 
at last 
caved in.


~~~~
Last August, while vacationing in Maine, I noticed several huge bird feathers on the ground.  At that time (and to this day), news of summary execution of drug users and pushers in the Philippines dominated the headlines.  That bothered me a lot.  When Victoria's DVERSE prompt came up, I thought of combining the two images.  
For:  DVerse Poetics:  Come Fly with Me
12 comments

  1. Very well written. I can tell you, though, that there is someone who cares about the murder of crows. My son loves crows. They are highly intelligent birds with long memories. Those who kill part of a “murder” best watch out for the remaining crows will not soon forget.

  2. So well done. I tend to associate crows with darkness, too. Yes, the color and their “song” to me seem ominous. But also, because when my sister was dying, the yard outside her window was covered with them. I used one symbolically in my 2nd novel, associated with death, of course.

  3. I agree with the other commenters. It is a powerful poem. I heard about the summary execution of drug dealers under President Duterte. I hate drug-dealers because I think they ruin lives, but sometimes the solutions can be even worse than the disease.

  4. late to the reading…apologies…last days of Provincetown’s charm occupied my time. Home again to city life. And soooo glad I stopped by to read this. So very very powerful. Visceral, painful….excellent description. I am there, sadly. Beautifully done!

    • No worries. I have been playing a catch-up game, too. Sometimes, life just gets busier for most of us. Thank you for the visit and the kind words, Lillian. 🙂

Leave a Reply

