YOUR EYES

eyes

Do we even see the same person?
You see someone beautiful
I see one beyond her prime
(who kind of looks like a crone).
You get mad
that I disagree
How can you belie those many eyes
who have judged her face
her person
to be less than perfect?
She carried the sting of many years
wore the thorns like a cloak
she was what other saw
But you dare strip her
of the mold she was cast in
that I may see her
the way your love does
And I have never been as beautiful.

~~~

Daily Post:  Eyes

5 comments

  1. Such an uplifting poem about seeing inner beauty through those around us. Sometimes we all need that bit of encouragement. Wonderful shot to go with this poem 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Mabel. 🙂 We do need someone to affirm us every once in awhile. Even those who seem to be independent and very confident do need to hear good words about them (although I am not of this variety). 🙂

  2. I liked the poem. It made me think. I read it as about someone, perhaps a doting husband or an affectionate son, who looks at a loved one and still sees only the beautiful person he has always known. He chides the speaker for her far more shallow judgments. (My apologies if I’ve got the wrong end of the stick. I’m notoriously bad at interpreting poetry.) 🙂

    • Oh, you are so right, Mr. Bun. 🙂 The other speaker and the subject of the conversation are in fact the same. 🙂

      By the way, there is no need to apologize. My goodness, if I had had half the wit and humor of your writing, I will be quite proud. You may even be a Shel Silverstein in hiding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

