THE FIRST TIME EVER I SAW HIS FACE

butterflyonqueenanne

I met him with a luggageful of warnings. “He could be a psycho!” was my friends’ almost unanimous fear when I told them that I would meet the man I met online who happened to be from the other side of the world. After a year of extensive e-mails and expensive phonecalls, we agreed to finally meet in person. I would fly for 21 hours while he would drive 12 hours  to get to our meeting place. To appease my friends (and the little scared voice within), I did check the information he gave me against those independently available online, memorized the emergency number (9-1-1!), and arranged to meet in my brother’s apartment in Delaware.

The hour of our meeting approached. It was on a snowy December night. I parked myself on the couch by the window overlooking the road. I jumped at the sight of passing headlights. A lot later than expected, a car parked in front of our door. The door was opened before the doorbell rang. Outside stood a handsome, clean-shaven youth, cold inside his grayish woolen sweater. “Where is your stuff?” I managed to squeak after I regained my breath.

We spent two weeks together during which time, I learned that he was definitely not a murderer but, to my tastebuds’ consternation, I also learned that he was quite adept at using leftover turkey (mostly as soggy turkey rice). Meanwhile, he learned that I could not cook to save myself and that I was shorter than he thought. He gave me a ring anyway.

Sheltered butterfly
warm inside binding cocoon
foreordained  to fly

~~~~~~~~

 DVerse’s Haibun Monday:  A Little Romance.  Jump into the pub for some romantic takes.

36 comments

  1. Another success for online dating, turning into a real life love story. I am smiling at the end Imelda. Good for you and your hubby to accept each other – cheering you guys all the way!!!

  2. Wonderful. We online daters are amazing. And he gave you a ring anyway! I hope the love has grown deeper and that both of you have learned to cook. This is a delightful haibun.

  3. Oh my, you had me at the first sentence. “I met him with a luggageful of warnings.” ~ I love this line! ❤ And I love it even more that he gave you the ring anyway. 😀 ❤

  4. Meanwhile, he learned that I could not cook to save myself and that I was shorter than he thought. He gave me a ring anyway.

    smiling to these lines…….nice one there.

  5. Online Love.. a world
    of words over flesh and blood..
    a world with so much time to get
    to kNow more than flesh and blood..
    pen pals first.. lovers long after..
    and even
    life
    time
    partners stArting
    with words..
    sMiLes.. by
    now
    everyone
    should be
    a poet..
    i suppose..
    online has its perks..

    Coffee of
    life..
    Words oF on EliNe Love..:)

  6. Cheering loudly here!! You’ll have to stop by and read my haibun since we definitely have something in common.
    Adorable story. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

