THERE IS NOTHING HERE

Swallowtail and dandelionI rushed by a field

of drooping dandelions

seeing  nothing ’til

a swallowtail flitted by

with a spray of pixie dust.

~~~~

I have no travel photo to share, but I have photos from my (figurative) journeys from day to day.  Often,  I complain about its ordinariness then get struck how the beautiful the mundane can be.  Today, I was crossing the field chasing after my children who went off to see the skeleton of a deer.   I’ve crossed the field so many times, I almost do not see it until I noticed the butterfly.

I chose a tanka to accompany this photo because it goes well with my current (literary) mood and situation.  These days, I have difficulty stringing words and ideas together.  The simplicity and  succinctness  of the form makes it very appealing.  I like the fact that in a few syllables, I could express myself poetically. 🙂

 

For:  WPC:  ON THE WAY and dVERSE:  Prosody with Bryan Ens.

 

32 comments

    • True. 🙂 Sometimes, it takes something special to take away our indifference. I’ve been seeing to many dandelions lately that somehow they lost their magic. 🙂

  1. I think that something as simple as a butterfly that catches your attention can be captured perfectly in just a few words. I suspect that a longer piece would not have captured the simple beauty of that butterfly. Nicely done!

  2. there’s so much magic in those little creatures – and i like how encounters like this can make us see again and bring us out of our routine… nice

  3. I like just the dandelions but the butterfly makes it extra special. I see details sometimes in the flowers in a field. I also see details in my surroundings, I love houses with cornices and love nature with its special beauty bestowed upon us. Smiles, Robin

    • Sory, I am not a member of Cowbird so I could not leave a comment on your story. It reminds me of my own children – how enthusiastic they are at picking up the flowers, and when they have turned to puff, how equally enthusiastic they are at blowing away the puffs. 🙂

  4. Tankas cam rule, as yours does. Butterflies make me sad, because their life span is so short, as if Nature allows them to possess extraordinary beauty for a short burst, before they burn out.

  5. This is beautiful – both the photo and words. It’s so true that sometimes we are so used to seeing what’s in front of us, we neglect to take notice of the beauty. But it is magical when it does happen!

Leave a Reply

