THE PRESENT

 PHOTO BY TOTOMAI MARTINEZ
The photo is by Totomai Martinez whose photographs are the featured image prompts for Dverse Poets’ Pub’s Poetics. This photo can be found in  Mr. Martinez’s Flickr page  and blog, respectively.   This picture was taken during the coming of age ceremony of 20-year old Japanese.  Please visit his page for the photo story.

 

 

I fix my eyes into the future
ever on the lookout for possibilities
that will bring me the me
I dream to be.

I open my hands to catch its gifts
as though I am catching shooting stars
oh!  how they burn. I filled my hands
to the full

until I looked back
and light grew dim in my eyes.
So many chances have slipped from
the cracks in my hands.

Would that I could call them back
would fulfillment be mine?
Or would they make new desires
unsatisfied?

In the here and now
I am pushed and pulled by what was
and what is to come. Hope and regret –
mirrors of mine.

 

~~~

I am rushing to beat the 12:00 am linky deadline.  I know, the piece needs some more checking and revising. 🙂

For Dverse Poets Pub:  Poetics – Photography of Totomai Martinez.

(Update:  Unfortunately, I did not make it to the link.  Oh well. 🙂

8 comments

    • Aw. Thank you very much, Mary. That was nice of you to link me up. 🙂 I am sorry my work often comes in at the last last minute.

      On Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 12:41 PM, MY WALL wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

