MY CROCHETED TABLECLOTH

 

I have the pleasure of showing you my completed table cloth. It took eight years of on and off work (mostly done during our visits to my in-laws).  I’ve lost count of amount of thread I used.   I must have used about 40 400-yard rolls of Aunt Lydia’s Fine Crochet Thread No. 20.  This piece is big enough to cover a dinner table for 6.
Tablecloth
I began this project so that I would have some fun diversion while taking care of two little children then. My second son was just born and I needed something to occupy me during the long hours of watching and caring for a toddler and a baby. More than that, I needed something to pass the hours when we were visiting family in the middle of nowhere in Maine. This did keep me busy while my husband did his errands for his parents and I had no one to talk to during the day and at night.

But the project suffered from my forgetfulness. At one point, I got confused about the size of the crochet hook I was using and found myself using a size 10 hook instead of the size 9 with which I started the project. As a result, one end of the tablecloth is wider than the other.
Tablecloth2

I have a choice of making an edging for the tablecloth. Right now, I will leave the tablecloth as is. Maybe, one day, I will make that lace. For now, however, I am excited to begin a new project.

 

Leanne Cole Photography’s Monochrome Madness #46.

33 thoughts on “MY CROCHETED TABLECLOTH”

    1. The design is pretty – it was the main attraction of the project for me.

      Arlene, if you do crochet, this project only required chains and double crochets. It is like stacking blocks. The hardest part of the project is counting (and staying with it once you started). 🙂

    1. Thanks, Perpetua. Naalala ko lang gawin iyan kapag bakasyon kasi.

      I know – the pattern is lovely – peacocks and flowers. I think that was one of the biggest reasons I undertook this project.

      1. Tee hee… I have one that started two years ago that I can’t seem to pick up and started a new knitting project… prayer shawl/blanket.

    1. I think the biggest motivation I had for finishing this project were the long and sometimes lonely vacations in Maine. This served as my sanity blanket while there. 🙂

    1. Naku, Joy, kung wala kaming mahabang bakasyon na wala akong ginagawa, hindi ko alam kung paano ko iyan matatapos. I think kapag malaki ang project, best thing to do, pick it up once in ahile. Kakapagod kung dirediretso ang pag-gawa.

  1. wow! it is beautiful, Imelda. nakamana ako ng table cloth and curtains crocheted by my aunt. old but still beautiful and elegant. they’re so precious, i love them 🙂

Leave a Reply

