GOSSIPS

A hush fell in the room the second I walked in
eyes stared at me as though they saw a ghost
then frenzied words spilled from shocked mouths
stuttering to acknowledge my presence
and cover up the screaming silence that greeted me.
My heart hammered in my chest
while I wondered at what had been said
Suspicion rushed through my veins
Can I trust these so called friends?
Should I ask? Chances are, I’d get a lie
Yet, would I like the words that they hide?

 

~~~~

 

DVERSE wants us to write about secrets for Poetics:  What is Your Secret?  This is very rough  but I am trying to go back to the Pub. 🙂

10 thoughts on “GOSSIPS”

  1. Excellent writing Imelda and wouldn’t it be nice if people could only be truthful, no matter how much it would hurt. At least you’d know where you stand. Luckily I don’t believe in the ‘friend’ thing. 😀

Leave a Reply

