HAPPY NEW YEAR

I’ve been absent from my blog for  too long it feels like I am starting anew again.  🙂  I hope life has been good to all of you.  My late wishes for a Merry Christmas (it is just the tenth day of Christmas, so it is still the season 🙂  ) and a blessedly wonderful new year.   Here is something I made using G.K. Chesterton’s words.

New Year

We had a quiet Christmas time with family.  Thanks be to God, we we able to go to Mass before everyone succumbed to a rather nasty cold virus.  So it was that in the days of plenty and cheer, we had no taste for the fine food prepared by family members, nor the strength to enjoy each others’ company or to listen to Carols.  It was a time of patience and enduring which I think contributed to the richness of a Christmas experience.  It was a way to meditate on what matters about the season, life, and all.

Anyway, before I become overly sentimental,  and in keeping with the character of this place, here is a lovely poem by William Arthur Ward –

“Another fresh new year is here . . .
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!

This bright new year is given me
To live each day with zest . . .
To daily grow and try to be
My highest and my best!

I have the opportunity
Once more to right some wrongs,
To pray for peace, to plant a tree,
And sing more joyful songs!”
― William Arthur Ward

 

37 comments

    • Happy new year to you, too, Jamie. Blessings upon you as well. oh, I have not read much Chesterton but I love his Father Brown series. 🙂

      On Sat, Jan 3, 2015 at 11:08 PM, MY WALL wrote:

      >

  1. I hope everyone’s feeling better by the time you read this 🙂 But I’m happy to hear that you still enjoyed the spirit of Christmas though! Happy new year 🙂

  2. “May Light always surround you;
    Hope kindle and rebound you.
    May your Hurts turn to Healing;
    Your Heart embrace Feeling.
    May Wounds become Wisdom;
    Every Kindness a Prism.
    May Laughter infect you;
    Your Passion resurrect you.
    May Goodness inspire
    your Deepest Desires.
    Through all that you Reach For,
    May your arms Never Tire.”
    ― D. Simone

    May the New Year be all that you wish yourself Imelda… sorry to hear of your woes over the celebratory period…. but you did make it to Mass…

  3. sorry to hear you weren’t well. all the very best to you and your family for the new year ahead. and you’re right. it’s still Christmas for another couple of days 🙂

  4. Aww…so sorry for your health woes Imelda. We have had our fair share too, I have lost my voice from coughing so much, all ill and boys arrived with the same, but we managed to have a lovely Christmas just being together and yes, also lots of time to think and ponder. Sometimes, this is the best thing to do of all isn’t it? I hope you are all on the mend now, and thank you for sharing such a beautiful quote and poem, I feel my heart lifted just from reading them. May 2015 bring you every blessing and all your heart desires. And may I say too how much I appreciate your ongoing support and friendship…means a lot to me, really does. God Bless you Imelda 🙂

Leave a Reply

