THE FRUITCAKE THAT IS LONG GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN (For WPC)

LastΒ  Christmas, my husband bought some fruitcake bars from the bargain bin. We both love fruitcake but he had not had the chance to bake some that year. So, he got a couple of packages just to try out the brand. It turned out to be the best (store bought) fruitcake I ever had. It had festive colors of red and green, as you cans see, and none of the chewy lemon and orange peels. The cake part also looked cheery with its creamy hue.

Old Fashion Glaxton Fruitcake

I liked it so much I took photos of it and posted one on my Facebook page so that I would be able to remember the brand when I have to. The said photo came in handy for this challenge. I had to go back several years of postings, and so here is the tasty fruitcake, as lovely and cheery as the day I took the photo. I have such pleasant memories of this fruitcake that I asked my husband to make me a fruitcake for my birthday – one that is similar to this Old Fashion Glaxton Fruitcake. For that alone, I think that this photo qualifies for the challenge. πŸ™‚

WPC:Β  GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN

31 comments

    • Hello Cado. πŸ™‚ My blogging has been so limited lately I am late in replying to and catching up with everybody.
      I think my husband picked up the fruitcake from Walmart. So, I guess, if there is a Walmart near you, if you happen to be in the US, this fruitcake brand will be available. :

  1. Great shot of the fruitcake, you managed to make the colourful fruits stand out, well done. I LOVE fruitcake and like you prefer the red and green orange fruits ❀ It's a cake that's eaten a lot during Christmas in Australia but doesn't get much of a look at other times of the unfortunately. But it's sold all year round in shops πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Mabel.

      I think it is a Christmas treat (scare, as the case may be) here too. It must be the festive nature of the cake. The ingredients for the fruitcake appear around this time and I was reminded of fruitcake because the other day, my husband baked some fruitcake cookies (which were good while fresh but the orange and lemon peels hardened to rock consistency after a few days). Bleh. πŸ™‚

  2. Super photo! But I have to say, I have never liked fruitcake. Although a friend made one that was soaked in rum for several weeks that was good. I don’t care for rum either, but the rum soaked fruitcake was really quite good. So basically, putting two unlikes together to made a like! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Timothy. It must be that the contrasting flavors cancelled out the nasty parts of each. We treat ours, too, with rum but we might have to forego that the next time we make some fruitcake to make it kid-friendly.

  3. My mom used to make fruitcakes when I was kid. I remember my brother and I cutting up all the candies and cherries (and eating half of them!) and the rum-soaked cheesecloth that the cakes were wrapped in. I never really liked to eat fruitcake, though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

