SPIDER

Spider and Puff2

She is a spider
weaving lace
out of delicate threads.
She made love
a coverlet,
the envy of queens.
She did not think twice
when betrayed by her prince
to unravel the sullied beauty
and start again.
Spider and Puff
The poem was inspired by this spider and my long standing crochet project.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been betrayed many times by my clumsy hands and found myself tearing whatever progress I made to correct the mistakes.ย  Ah, the life of a crochet-er. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I am stealing some time while my children are busy with their schoolwork and my littlest son is distracted by entertainments aside from PBS videos that he watches in my computer.

Ah, about these photos, I was wandering in the backyard several days ago looking for things to photograph.ย  A group of hawkweed puff caught my eye.ย  I took a picture and when I checked the result in the viewfinder, I saw a little spider hiding in the fuzz.ย  It was a wonderful surprise.
spider and Puff3

Happy Thursday.

14 thoughts on “SPIDER”

  1. Wonderful capture Imelda and yes, I ditto you and Sylvia with the crochet although in my case it would knitting. Sooo frustrating when that happens… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. i tried to crochet but did not prosper although my late aunt did lovely bed covers which i love and use once in a while. awesome capture of spider. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, LolaWi. It was my older female relatives that made me want to crochet. Their works deocrated the homes of my grandparents’ homes and I thought that the crocheted curtains made their humble homes look gracious. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. This is beautiful! Spiders creep me out a little (I’m all time walking into their webs in the yard and do not like the silken threads stuck to my face!) but you make them look beautiful. Sorry to hear of your crocheting re-dos, but you’ll make progress in time ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, Janna. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I wonder if you will be scared of this spider. It is just as small, maybe even smaller than an ant. I myself will avoid the bigger and hairier spiders, but this one looks harmless. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Sunday, Janna.

Leave a Reply

