AUTUMN SNOW (for WPC: Descent 2)

First Snow

Winter came in November
the first snowfall was pristine
falling fast like soggy puffs
heavy with unfulfilled dreams.

How the children squealed with delight
and ran outdoors with open arms
to catch the falling flakes
with an expectant tongue.

I watched from the window
how the children danced
while my heart retreated
from the swirling fairy dust

that covers the ground with illusion
of a world pure and serene
yet hiding autumn’s skeletons
in its bosom, cold and unforgiving.

 

~~~~

Well, we had our first snow on November 2nd.  I like the falling snowflakes but not the accumulated snow on the ground and the cold.  I think winter makes the simple act of going anywhere such a big ritual.

 

Happy Thursday. 🙂

 

WPC:  Descent

10 comments

  1. Another lovely poem, Imelda. “soggy puffs”, that’s a very catchy phrase (it reminded me of Cocoa Puffs 🙂 ). I can definitely sense the gloom of winter through this one. I hope it won’t be too cold of a winter for you. Stay warm. Rug up with a soft cardigan and a warm cup of hot chocolate 🙂

  2. I like falling snow, too – but I think kids are able to enjoy winter a whole lot more because they don’t have the responsibility of navigating through it- just frolicking in it 🙂

Leave a Reply

