REFRACTIONS IN A CRYSTAL GLASS (for WPC: Refractions)

 

Refraction-Nikon
This is taken using a Nikon DSLR. The rest of the photos were taken with a Fujifilm SX-1.

I had to look up the meaning of the terms and to see how it is different from Reflection before I had any idea about how to respond to this challenge. Then I remember my son’s lesson in refraction – a spoon in a glass of water would appear bent because of light refraction. Perhaps, I could try the glass thing, but first I needed a nice glass item. This candle holder seating idle inside my cabinet appeared good for the test. It is thick, it is crystal, it is well-made. It only needed a little polishing. šŸ™‚
Crystal Candleholder
Two summers ago, I used this same glass to see how it would appear when the sun was shining on it. When it caught the sun at the right angle, I saw a ray of rainbow emanate from the glass. I tried to direct that light into a little flowering plant I then had. However, I was not able to have a good capture of the image.
.

With that previous experiment in mind, I brought the glass outdoors where I thought I could take advantage of the light. The sun, however, did not cooperate. It hid behind the clouds before I could even begin my work.
Refraction Abstract
Since I was having a sort of a me-time anyway, the children were out with their grandparents and I had done the things I needed to do, I took pictures anyway. I thought I would capture autumn through the glass as though it was an extension of the camera lens. Autumn through a Crystal Glass
When I had enough of that exercise, I put fallen leaves and flowers inside the container and took photos of them. It looked like they were swimming in water.
HawkWeed Refraction I found the results quite interesting that I took some more photos. Not all turned out well though. Daisy Refraction1 I had fun finding out how the grooves and cut of the glass affected the images. Daisy Refraction3 It was interesting to see the interplay between the images that were reflected on the glass and those that are inside the glass. Daisy and Pink refraction Thank you for coming by. I hope you enjoyed my experiment as I did. Happy weekend.Ā  šŸ™‚Ā  Oh-oh.Ā  Pardon me for being unable to visit or respond to your comments.Ā Ā  I will see you, dear friends, by and by.Ā  Promise. šŸ™‚Two Daisies

WPC:Ā  REFRACTION

21 comments

  1. I love to see others become fascinated by this type thing… I can spend hours experimenting on differing things… but this experiment turned out so well and the results are fascinating as well as beautiful… I think you did a wonderful job of the refraction’s challenge…

  2. What a fabulous experiment. I found it quite beautiful and fascinating. Now, you’ve got me wondering where on earth I’ve stored my Fostoria glass as you’ve shown a gorgeous candleholder. Your third and fourth close-ups are my favorites! Well done! šŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous refraction here Imelda. I too need to read up on this as I have no clue what to do for the challenge as yet. But I absolutely your ‘experiment’ here, how you got to play and capture these beauties. You are so wonderfully creative, you really are …. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

