PAINTING AUTUMN

Green Cabin

Paint the leaves scarlet and gold
lend them the glow of the sun
riding low in the sky
Don’t scrimp on the colors
the shadows will come anytime
to fill in the spaces in the foliage
You will need the charcoal
to trace the path of the leaf swirling
from the branch to the ground
where the colors bleed
Do not cry. Darkness will shine on the light
or is it the other way around?
Do you see how vivid the hues are
against the descending gloom
like life . . .
staring at death.
Pond3

For the DAILY PROMPT:Β  AUTUMN LEAVES

28 thoughts on “PAINTING AUTUMN”

  1. You have turned a prompt into a vivid, powerful post. Thank you especially for the closing lines: “…Darkness will shine on the light
    or is it the other way around?
    Do you see how vivid the hues are
    against the descending gloom
    like life . . .
    staring at death.”
    Beautiful.

  2. Beautiful photos Imelda, your fall is further ahead than ours and it is still quite balmy here, a typical September! Lovely poem too capturing the essence of this glorious season πŸ™‚

  3. Striking! Perfect poem. Perfect photograph. We are waiting her for more signs of fall. Hope you were not too affected by the recent rains in the Phillipines. I thought of you when I read the news. I have a relative in Manila too.

    Happy days, Imelda.
    J.

    1. Thank you so much for the thought, Jamie. I am lucky, if I may say so, to be living here in the Northeast of the USA. Flooding is quite common in Metro Manila and when I was still a student, I used to wade through thigh-deep floodwaters to get home. Because of the developments, the flooding only got worse through the years. While I miss the homeland every so often, I am just so glad to be not stuck in the floods.

      I hope your relatives in Manila are ok. What part of Manila are they in?

      1. Ah, I thought you were still in the Phillipines. Great to have you in the USA. Yes! My cousin and his students are fine. He teaches Theology at Ateneo in Quezon City. I guess they had quite a flood but everyone is okay. I think there was some minimal property damage and trees down. That sort of thing.

        Happy days, Imedla. Keep smiling.

    2. Oh wow! Small world. Your cousin must be a Jesuit? I got my undergraduate degree from the Ateneo decades ago. That area is a lot nicer than any of Metro Manila and I enjoyed its atmosphere a lot.

    3. Oh wow! Small world. Your cousin must be a Jesuit? I got my undergraduate degree from the Ateneo decades ago. That area is a lot nicer than any of Metro Manila and I enjoyed its atmosphere a lot.

      Happy day to you as well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

