GENEROUS GARDEN

Ah! Bountiful garden

you left me no room

for idle wondering.

Vegetablegarden
When we came home from our two-week vacation last Wednesday, we were greeted with ripening tomatoes and peppers. The weather had been good during our absence. Rain came once a week. Immediately, I harvested the ripe fruits. That same afternoon, overcome by excitement, I canned tomatoes even if I was not prepared to that day. As a result, I broke two quart canning jars. I forgot that the jars and the water had to be the same temperature to prevent breakage. After the two mishaps, I was careful to keep the canning water just warm and to let the canned tomatoes and water heat up and boil at the same time.

Since Wednesday, I have been busy using up the tomatoes. I have been blanching and peeling and canning, and even sharing a few of the fruits to neighbors and friends. To date, I have canned 20 quarts of tomatoes. When it got a little tiring, I decided to try making Salsa. I don’t know what to expect. The recipe I used turned out sour and vinegary. I wonder if the extra boiling would make the flavors blend and mellow a bit more.


And I made a big batch of spaghetti sauce using a family recipe. I froze some of the sauce for use when our days get too tight.
Sauce Pot

Well, I guess that was my roundabout way of explaining my absence from WordPress. 🙂

14 comments

  1. …and what a perfect excuse for your absence Imelda, can’t think of a better one! I’ll have some of that spaghetti sauce if you have any left over please 😉

  2. I’ve never had that many tomatoes at once. Wow!! But I have found myself wondering what to do with armfuls of courgettes and runner beans in the past….if only we could spread the bounty through the year don’t you think?!

    • Hi, Jennie. 🙂 True, many will be benefited if they can just trade produce.
      It may be possible to can the runner beans. I am just thinking of the green beans that my MIL cans. I do not know how different runner beans and green beans are, but it may be an option for runner beans, too?

      • Good idea Imelda; one to remember for the future maybe. I haven’t tried that so far, but I have done chutneys and frozen them in big batches. And given lots and lots away to friends and neighbours! 🙂

  3. Yum! We haven’t had more tomatoes than we can eat fresh so far but the apples are starting to ripen. I’ve got a bushel and a half in the basement already, canning season here we come!

    • I smell apple pies and apple cider from here, Jessie. Sometimes, I think we are crazy to wish for all of these produce when they entail so much work! 🙂

      We thought that we could pick some apples from my in-laws’ orchard but alas! the fruits were puny and wormy.

Leave a Reply

