MY CROCHET PROJECT (for WPC: Texture)

 

Crochet thread

The thread is familiar.   I know how No. 20 Crochet Thread, the one by Aunt Lydia,  feels like.  I know, too, how it would feel and look like when worked by a Size 10 crochet needle.  I’ve been working on this project, a filet table cloth with peacock motif, on and off for about eight years now. I know its weight on my lap.  I know where I switched needles because I see where the project tapered off a bit.

I started the project after the birth of my second son so that I would have something to do while watching him and his older brother.  At first I worked fast.  I worked during the day and nights when I had no chores and when the boys were asleep.  I crocheted during long trips.  Then, the piece got bigger and bigger and it took a lot of my seat space.  It also got harder to keep track of the pattern.  I ended up unraveling most of what I had done.  That was frustrating.  I decided to stop working in a moving car.

Then I had more children and more chores and other interests.  I only managed to pick up my crochet project during our regular visits to Maine.   I am now in the last 20 rows of this table cloth.  Fortunately or unfortunately, I used a bigger thread size.  My finished work will be too big a table cloth, but I think, it will just be perfect for a queen bed.  Turning it into a bedspread will also hide the mistake I made with the needles.  Christmas time.  I am looking at Christmas time for the main body of this cloth to be done.  Then, I will decide if I will crochet around the edges to give it a finished look.

Crochet2WPC:  TEXTURES

33 comments

  1. Eight years, that’s an epic work. Thank goodness you can turn it into a bedspread. That brough memories on my first knitting project. I kept on knitting and wooo…. ways too big for a scarf.

    • If I had been more diligent, this project would have been done in a year or two. But laziness got the better of me. 🙂 I had the kinds of project that got way too big – I crocheted a shawl which nowhere looks like the design I was following.

  2. Eight years! Hats off to your persistence. I can empathize with you about unraveling a piece of your work — it is frustrating to have to undo even a few hard-worked stitches; infinitely harder in crochet than knitting.

    I can’t wait to see your finished project — it looks so good right now.

  3. Wow! I didn’t know Aunt Lydia was still around. I used to use that brand all the time – a hundred years ago – What a fab project. Hope you post a photo when it’s done, Imelda.

    • It is, though the finer threads are getting harder to find. It used to be the most reasonably priced thread but last Wednesday, I was shocked to see how much the prices have increased.

      I will definitely post a photo of the finished work to mark that major project milestone. Thanks for the encouragement, Jamie. 🙂 I wish you well.

      On Sun, Aug 10, 2014 at 5:01 AM, MY WALL wrote:

      >

    • I think that lack of attention span is what made this project take so long. I just have to try to work on finishing it because unfinished things nag me.

  4. Wow! That’s a very big project. The biggest thing I ever crocheted was a baby’s shawl, and I made six of those. Good luck with completing your bedspread. The edging would finish it off very nicely, if you decide to do it. 🙂

    • Wow! That’s a lot of baby shawls. 🙂 For your grandkids?
      Anyway, thanks for the encouragement, Sylvia. I need that push as I approach the final stitches of this work. 🙂

  5. Good luck and can’t wait to see the finished product! How nice to have such a skill. What else have you made? What else do you plan to make? Think it’s a really cool hobby and thanks for sharing not only your photo but your thoughts. Nice!

    • Hi, Gale. Thanks for coming by and the encouragement to finish this long standing project.
      Since I got married 10 years ago, I have made curtain panels, another bed cover, some runners and doilies, and Christening clothes. Many of those were made before I had children and was a new immigrant here in the US with not much to do. Since then, and after I got hooked on blogging, my productivity went down. I wish I can learn how to Irish crochet, and to make more big projects like this. It’s time consuming but the result, I think, is so worth it. It’s something that can be handed down. 🙂

      • I agree that it is indeed worth the effort. My mom was just like you: very versatile when it came to crocheting. She even made an elaborate altar cloth for her church. It was beautiful. Unfortunately I don’t have the patience. Keep at it (when you have time).

  6. Wow! Eight years in the making. What a tough feat. Very inspiring. When it’s get done, it will be so so much more than just it’s intended purpose. 😉

Leave a Reply

