DAYLILY

Red Day Lily

Oh Daylily, servant to beauty and time
grace undiminished
though it lasts for only a short while
Should it bargain for an extra day or two
to fill the garden with its festive hues
suffer longer under the withering sun
or live its purpose, then be done
to each gift is duty attached
Is life well lived?
it is what counts.

~~~~

Recently, two friends, INESEMJPHOTOGRAPHY and  AQUILEANA nominated me for blogging awards.  While I have trouble meeting the conditions for the awards, I definitely appreciate the kind gesture given me.   Ines is a talented photographer and often she posts photo essays in her blog.  I enjoy looking at her photos and reading her well-crafted and researched articles.  Aquileana, on the other hand, writes about Greek Mythology and creative written responses to those.  Thus far, hers is the only blog I encountered that deals with Greek mythology.   Her blog is a great way to be introduced to and get familiar with the classics.  I recommend that you drop by their pages.   The work that they produce deserve appreciation and support.

Thank you all very much.  You are all wonderful. 🙂

15 comments

  1. Congrats on the awards, Imelda. Your poetry has certainly touched others. I love this poem, very bittersweet. What also caught my attention was the photo in this post. I love how the dark red hues blend so seamlessly into lighter reds at the edge of the petals. Good lighting, good shot 🙂

  2. I enjoy your poems Imelda .Congratulations on your awards -well deserved .
    I also write poetry, mainly in maltese (my language) and in English . my name is also Imelda .

  3. ‘…is life well lived, it is what counts…’ Dear Imelda, this photograph and accompanying poem is exquisitely beautiful and moving. Congratulations too on your awards, which you richly deserve. Have a great weekend with your lovely family – 😀

  4. The day lily is one of my favourite flowers, and yours is a lovely example. Great capture of its velvety textures. And a perfect verse accompaniment. Congratulations on your awards 🙂

Leave a Reply

