FALLING IN LOVE (for DVerse Poets)

Swans reflected on an autumn pond

I know my world
Here, I am safe
But your eyes
your eyes twinkled with stars
I have never seen
and poured out a blue
my skies never had.
I am entranced
and pulled into that place
that all too soon
mine seem so plain.
So I dare
I dare to hold your hand
and explore the world
that now opens before us.

 

~~~

 

For Poetics, DVerse wants to answer this question:  “Where would you want to be, if you could choose?”  I have no idea until I read the FB message of my friend who is  consulting me about her online romance.  She told me that  she and her friend are meeting soon and that she is  afraid.  I guess because I went through the same ‘ordeal’ as she is going through now, she finds me a good resource person for her questions. 🙂

Thank you for coming by.

24 comments

  1. ah those first fumbling steps can be rather intimidating…but whole worlds will open up to be explored surely….good they are getting to meet in person as well…that will tell much…

    • Thanks, Starralee. 🙂

      Online dating, I think, is no more scary than real-life dating. One of its advantages is one gets to know the person without being burdened by the physical aspects of ‘dating’. As in face-to-face relationships, one has to listen for those cues that tell whether one is a good match or not.

      Of course, I may be saying this only because I am one of those who found a good man online.

      • I suspect you’re in the minority–OR maybe it’s because I watch too many true-crime stories, where people are not who they say they are…. I am Very Happy that you found a wonderful man online!

    • It took me a long time to be comfortable with looking people in the eye. I was most uncomfortable to look at the eyes of a boy I liked because I feared that my secret would be discovered.

  2. Imelda, this is such a lovely poem about love. You make love, finding a soul mate, sound like the most beautiful thing in the world. I hope to experience something like this someday. You write poetry really well, and I’m always excited to read more from you 🙂

    • Hi Mabel. Thank you very much for the kind words. I pray that you will find a good man. Be discerning and do not rush – (my unsolicited advice for the day). 🙂 I am sorry – I have no more young female relation who I can give such kinds of unsolicited advice to. 🙂

  3. Love these lines: “explore the world/that now opens before us,” and the contrast between the opening “my world” and the closing “us.”

  4. Beautiful…captures those tentative yet powerful emotions of being on the cusp of something profound. I understand, I met my husband online 🙂

  5. What a lovely poem, and I know exactly what you mean, I eloped with an egyptian man I met online, its been 15 years now, and we live in egypt, loving him like crazy still! I hope youll read my Joyride To Egypt posts, I’m using our emails to tell the story ♥♥♥

    Also, Congratulations! I have awarded you with the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award! Please come to the award party I am throwing in your honor at https://aishasoasis.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/edenkeeper-article-egypt-illuminates-ancient-alleyways-with-solar-lights/
    see you there! ;^) ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

