SORRY IS A PAINFUL WORD (for DVerse Poets and Magpie Tales)

MAGPIE TALES’ Mag 222 Image prompt.

“Sorry” is stuck in my throat.
Humility is a bitter pill
I take in grumbling
silence louder than yells.
I skulk in the corner
of pride and excuses
that make right my wrong
and judgmental your right.
I teeter on my pedestal
absorbed in preventing my fall
or falling with grace
if that be the unavoidable case.
But pride is a lonely cell
where I slither out with a smile
willing that things are the same
after all that transpired.
I’ll give you flowers
do you favors
dance on a pinhead if you ask
but “sorry” is stuck in my throat.

 

~~~

I am combining two prompts:  MAGPIE TALES’ above image prompt and DVERSE Poets’ Meeting the Bar:  When Words Fail.  Please check out the lovely places for more poems.  Thank you for coming by. 🙂

28 comments

  1. You paint the picture so well of being caught in that place of swallowing one’s pride. Being able to say “I’m sorry” is a sign of maturity and strength for sure. Well done!

  2. Been there more times than I’d like to admit for someone who has learned the lesson of forgiveness so many times. I love the lines, “or falling with grace / if that be the unavoidable case.” Peace, Linda

  3. Great work combining prompts, Imelda. “Sorry” is harder for some people than others–I tended to overuse it, I guess, which is just as ineffective.

  4. being truly sorry, and being willing to admit it…and make the ammends necessary def takes humility…we all fall…we are human after all…smiles. not all will return and be truly sorry

  5. Sorry being stuck in the throat – so hard say sorry and make amends ~ Some do it better with actions though but to say it, very difficult ~ Have a lovely weekend Imelda ~

  6. I am thinking about “I am sorry” being stuck in one’s throat. I think there are so many people who have a hard time saying “I’m sorry.” Actually I don’t think I am one of them. I think I say those words easily, but it bothers me a lot when people can’t say them. I think we are all human. We all err sometimes, often unintentionally.. There is no shame in admitting one has made a mistake. At least I don’t think so. But so many due. This is a good poem, Imelda. It made me reflect, and that is a good thing.

    • Now that you say it, I am reminded of a similar behavior among folks I know, too. It’s like they’d choke if they try saying “sorry”.

  7. oh yes – saying sorry is not that easy as you would imagine a short word like it would be… we def. need to deal with our pride first and that can be a tough battle… well penned imelda

Leave a Reply

