I KISS THE MOON GOODNIGHT (for Poetry Jam)

Moon and Clouds

I kissed the Moon good night
told her everything I needed to say.
Who knows when the night
will steal my breath away.
Has anyone closed her eyes
certain to wake to Dawn
waiting and opening
presents of the new morn?
All the love I have
should be given right here right now
that there be no regrets
when tomorrow does or doesn’t come.
End comes like a thief in the night –
that’s all I know.
So I kiss the moon “goodnight”
prepared that while I sleep
my dreams can go.

 

~~~~

For POETRY JAM.

22 comments

  1. You are right that life can end unexpectedly at any time–so yes, kiss that moon goodnight and tell her all you want to tell.

  2. I really like the idea of kissing the moon goodnight..and also the realization that all the love one has should be given here and now. We never know if we will have tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

