I AM AFRAID

Feather

I am afraid
to ask for faith
I know I will be tested
with doubts.

I am afraid
to ask for hope
I know I will soon be
in despair’s clutch.

I am afraid
to ask for love
I know
thorns will pierce my heart.

No sooner have I thought

my faith is strong

my hope is deep

my love is pure

that trial comes
fiercer than the last
to crush
the smugness in my soul.

I am afraid

am afraid…

so afraid to ask

for that which makes me strong.

Yet, what will I be
if I don’t?

12 thoughts on “I AM AFRAID”

  1. Powerful and stirring…that fear yet knowing you will go forward even as you face it knowing that you have to go through the pain first…

Leave a Reply

