SOLITUDE (for DVERSE)

Swan Quotation
I dare not be silent for I am afraid
my own soul shall speak
of truth I do not wish to hear.
Where shall I hide from the tide
that will sweep me clean of myself?
There, in the praise of people,
in the shelter of kindred thoughts
that lift me up high
and shield my eyes from arms
raised in defiance of my desires;
there, in the thousand and one endeavors
that occupy my time and my hands
that convince me
I am doing something worthwhile.
But for how long?
How long can I escape
this Inquisitor that grows with the night
and lies in wait in my sleep?
“I am only human, flawed,” dare I say
to defend myself
against the Inquisitor convinced
I can rise above my nature’s imperfection.
How easy will it be
if I need not answer questions
about my accountability.
Yet, that is the only way
I can live with myself.

~~~~

This Tuesday’s DVERSE’s Poetics prompt invites us to write poems that make use of quotations.   The swan in the picture made me think of “solitude”.   Then, a ‘Solitude quotation’ search led me to the above line by Martin Buber which inspired the poem.

Thank you for coming by.  🙂

32 comments

  1. the only way i can live with myself is my accountability as well…it is what keeps us from just doing whatever…i would like to think i do some things worth wile but i do think we fool ourselves at times with that….interesting thought provoking poem…

  2. I love this part:

    How long can I escape
    this Inquisitor that grows with the night
    and lies in wait in my sleep?

    Its hard to live with oneself when we don’t put ourselves accountable for our actions ~ Deep one here Imelda ~

  3. i think it’s good to ask ourselves some uncomfortable questions at times… and to really hear the answer we need that bit of solitude me thinks..

  4. Reblogged this on The Seeker and commented:
    The title alone of this poem is very catchy as well as the quote from Martin Buber: “Solitude is a place of purification.” I enjoyed reading this poem and I hope you do, too.

Leave a Reply

