SELF PORTRAIT (in words)

I am no taller than a mushroom
I wear a faded wispy crown
God painted me milk and java
baked under the equatorial sun

I see through chocolate pools
resting on a soggy oval plain
that often spouts gibberish
whenever the full moon reigns

My flower is Impatiens
I am Never-ending War*
But blessed is he who married me –
for him, sainthood isn’t too far.

~~~~

*It seems that  my name, Imelda, means ‘all consuming battle”, “warrior”, and “powerful fighter”, among others.    Did my name give me my character or did I fulfill my name’s calling? 😉 I wonder.

 

This poem is weeks old. I wrote this following an April 2014 PAD Challenge prompt.   I did not have a chance to link with DVERSE when it had Self-Portrait as theme so, I am taking the chance to share this one now.   It’s a little silly poem but it was fun writing it especially since I got the chance to tease my husband in the last line. 🙂

Ah, before I forget, my friend Diane of   HOME TO GO TO informed me about A Greatful Man’s Poetry’s plan to publish a collection of poems.  If any of you is interested to submit a piece for consideration, please visit his link for more information.  Also,  check out Diane’s page and say “HI.”  She is a one wise and good person to know. 🙂 And yes, please don’t forget to check the PUB’s Oferings this weekend.  Thank you all.

 

31 comments

  1. How is this silly? Absolutely not! You can do anything you wish, I often control the Universe, galaxies and the sea in my writing. Write more like this, find your inner God.

    • Hi, Starralee. True, it is great to be a soldier of God. However, thus far, my strength is consumed just trying to fight my own (pre)dispositions. 🙂

  2. hi Imelda, i can relate to your verses “God painted me milk and java baked under the equatorial sun”, i am probably made from the same mold 🙂 fun poem… have a great Sunday!

  3. Agree that it is an amazing self-portrait which I enjoyed reading. Quick note on typo: impatience (unless you meant it to be another way). Anyway, I really like this!

    • Thanks for the visit and comment, CC. As for the spelling, I understand that the spelling for the name of the flower – Impatiens – is different from the spelling for the character trait – impatience. However, they are pronounced the same. Just for fun, I borrowed the flower’s name to describe myself. 🙂

    • Thanks, Cressida. 🙂 I like your view about Impatiens. I know it has its merits (it can make a shady place pretty), but I am too dazzled by roses and lilies that I see Impatiens as humble in comparison. You can say that I’m a little weird. 🙂

  4. Love your poem Imelda, shows different sides to you and I love the last line for hubby! ‘Never-ending War’. That says so much, hints more than just a bit of the daily struggles and battles we wage…some bigger than others! 😉
    Thanks for the links too, I will definitely check them out 🙂

    • Thanks, Marina. 🙂
      He laughs at it. We have been teasing each other how marriage constantly challenges our patience with each other that we are each on the road to martyrdom. Since I consider myself the more quarrelsome of the two of us, I tell him that he should thank me for fast tracking his sainthood. 🙂

    • Thanks, Gay. 🙂
      Ah, it’s Monster Theme. I am not sure I can write one. I was derailed by our short vacation and have a hard time getting back on track.

  5. “My flower is Impatiens
    I am Never-ending War*
    But blessed is he who married me –
    for him, sainthood isn’t too far.”

    Such an intense and great piece. I loved it absolutely. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

