OUR CARDINAL

Cardinal 1

A camera with a bigger zoom now allows me to take better picture of birds.  And I am glad that at last, I got a picture of our cardinal – he is the only one in our yard – where he is prominently featured.   He used to be just a tiny speck in the pictures taken with my old camera.  🙂  He was warbling while I was taking these pictures and I learned his bird call.  Now I know when he is around.  The afternoon spent photographing the cardinal and listening to his song inspired to write the little poem below –

 
THE FAN

I stood in the cold to listen to your song
I heard your voice. I followed it
for I was mesmerized
I gazed at you on your pedestal
adoring you with my eyes
wishing for a crumb of your time –
a greeting, a look, a smile
anything, anything to tell me
my love is not in vain.

 

I hope you are not tired our cardinal’s pictures yet because here are some more –

18 comments

    • Ha! Geraldine, I only have seen one cardinal, too. We only have this cardinal in our yard. Well, if I include the cardinal I saw flying by the window of a restaurant we go two, I have seen two. 🙂 It’s always an event for me when I see one because I like cardinals.

  1. Oh how beautiful – reminds me of my robin and how you feel about your cardinal! I loved seeing cardinals in the States and I miss them so thank you for sharing him with us 🙂

    • You are very welcome, Sherri. I love seeing the robins, too. When I was new here in the US and newly married living in Buffalo, NY, I used to walk in a bike path that was full of robins. Because I was often alone in the path, I would sing at the top of my voice and watch the robin flock fly away. 🙂

    • After reading and hearing stories about the blue jay, I can say that they can be nasty indeed. 🙂 I agree with you though that they are very pretty, but the Cardinal is my favorite. Now that I knew from you that they are gentle birds, too, I like the cardinal even more now. 🙂 You know, Diane, I am really envious that they visit your porch regularly. 🙂

      • We live in an area where there are a lot of old trees and bushes which I believe they like.. and we do have many feeders…. I am so pleased when I look out and see the ‘splash’ of red out my window…. Your close-up photo is so beautiful…. I have only some through a window… Diane

Leave a Reply

