SHORT POEMS FOR DVERSE

Photograph by Shanyn Silinski (Please click the photo to get to her FB page) ๐Ÿ™‚

He drinks deeply of love –
sating his hunger
feeding a future, uncertain
what tricks could timeย  play?
So, he drinks deeply
until he and his beloved are one
against time.

~~~

The photo is by Shanyn Silinski as posted in Dverse Poets’ Pub.

The fall leaf held fast
through loneliness, wind, and snow
to have one last spring.

~~~~

For this week’s DVERSE Poetics, Shanyn wants the community to write micro poetry inspired by some macro photographs. I have been having difficulty with writing lately – I was thinking that the day I could not write poems anymore had come. It was becoming harder and harder to string two words together. Thanks to this prompt, some ideas still managed to squeeze through. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, we are in the middle of a little spring break.ย  We had a short vacation in Maine.ย  Just as we thought that winter was on the wane, a snow storm came.ย  How depressing.ย  To make winter a little more annoying, I slipped on the ice and hurt my knee.ย  The good part is, we are back home in warmer MA and we only got rain.ย  Soon I will start my spring ritual – checking for bulbs that are peeking and noting their daily progress. ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you are warm and cozy wherever you are.ย  Thank you for coming by.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

22 thoughts on “SHORT POEMS FOR DVERSE”

  1. two lovely writes…I like the uncertain future in the first and the clinging in the second. I too wish winter would let go of its hold.

    I’m glad you found something to grasp on to with this prompt…I definitely understand the poem-less feeling.

  2. Hope you’re okay…. We had a real winter storm today… one of the worst actually…

    Your first poem is very ‘romantic’…. and the second whimsical… Of course both are wonderful, and I can’t see you ever running out of words… Diane

  3. I hope your knee recovers quickly. We had warm (50) weather here early in the week and then we hit single digits last night – no spring bulbs yet. I have the same spring time ritual with them, this year it will be extra exciting because I’ll have to search them out, I know there are some planted at the new house, I’m hoping for lots, it’ll be a surprise… but not for another few weeks!

  4. Sorry about your knee Imelda but hope you had a good break anyway and starting to feel better. We are having warm, sunny weather here in the UK but anything could happen. Spring, for now, is fully underway very early! I do feel for you with writing ‘block’ but you ‘wrote through’ and came up with this delightful poem so well done! I’ve been going through a bit of a writing crisis myself which I will be blogging about soon. Take care ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Sherri. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for coming by and leaving some encouraging words. I am behind with visits and all _ I had a difficult time last week with reading pages and writing, too. But I will be by your place sooner or later.

      I hope the beautiful weather holds for you. I know you have been buffeted by storms there. Take care. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I always look forward to your visits but only when you can Imelda, I understand fully, I seem to be playing ‘catch up’ so much lately…

        Lovely weather here this weekend, the storms are a distant memory but the damage will take a long time to fix for some poor folk.

        I hope you are feeling more refreshed now and enjoying a lovely, family weekend with some beautiful spring days… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. That last one had my eyes tearing up – that is exactly how I feel about the leaves that make it through the winter on their branches! Well done! LOVE your set…:-) Thanks for joining in.

Leave a Reply

