DANDELIONS

Dandelion field

When the dandelion peeks from the rubble of winter
we know that the long wait for spring draws near
what privilege was bestowed on this humble flower
to be the herald of spring, spring’s gatekeeper

What wise Gardener to call the dandelions
to cover the fields when the fields are their own
and repair the damage that winter had wrought
before they fall under the blade’s haughty stroke.

As the days get longer and roses start to bloom
dandelion threads fade and then transform
to a silken sphere, repository of desires
sent to the breeze by a sigh or a prayer.

Higher and higher it floats like a fairy dust
until it finds the Gardener’s hands at last.
There it shall rest after a job well done
and sleep in peace until its appointed time.

Flowers and Puff

I am sharing this with DVERSE POETS’ Open Link Night. 🙂

17 comments

  1. I am looking forward to seeing those dandelions in our own backyard ~ Can’t wait for their color to brighten my day ~ I specially like this:

    silken sphere, repository of desires
    sent to the breeze by a sigh or a prayer.

    • Yeah, I am so tired of winter, too.
      I wrote this piece with Poetry Jam in mind but I took forever to finish and did not get to link. Sorry, I did not mention anything about it in my post. 🙂

  2. Wow how pleased am I that you decided to look at my blog via Sherri… ’cause in return I get to see your posts… photography and poetry, two of my favourites, I’ll definitely be following this blog…

Leave a Reply

