WPC: WINDOWS

This is what I think art is and what I demand of it: that it pull everyone in, that it show one person another’s most intimate thoughts and feelings, that it throw open the window of the soul.

~ Felix Mendelssohn

From a building in Old Port in Montreal.
From a building in Old Port in Montreal.

Art is the window to man’s soul. Without it, he would never be able to see beyond his immediate world; nor could the world see the man within.

~Lady Bird Johnson

A building in the Old Port section of  Montreal.
A building in the Old Port section of Montreal.

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked. / Some windows are lighted, but mostly they’re darked. / A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin! / Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in? / How much can you lose? How much can you win?

~ Dr. Seuss

A ramshackle hut by the shore, Rockland, Maine
A ramshackle hut by the shore, Rockland, Maine

I find it impossible to think of a picture save as a window, and my first concern about a window is to find out what it looks out on… and there is nothing I love so much as something which stretches away from me out of sight.

~ Andre Breton

 

a Train window, taken just before a railroad tour of Downeast Maine.
a Train window, taken just before a railroad tour of Downeast Maine.

 

I look at the window sometimes to seek the color of the shadows and the different greens in the trees, but when I get ready to paint I just close my eyes and imagine a scene.

~Grandma Moses

View from our  bedroom window in Maine.
View from our bedroom window in Maine.

 

For WPC: WINDOW.  Do check out the link for fabulous responses. 🙂 Happy happy weekend and thank you for coming by. 🙂

18 comments

  1. I love windows and take many photos of them when I’m travelling. Especially old and worn windows and doors too. I’m a bit obsessed actually! I’ve been thinking of sharing a few photos on my blog at some point, so it is wonderful to see this post! Love your photos as always, and especially the view from your bedroom window, wow, and Grandma Moses’ quote! Have a great weekend Imelda 🙂

  2. I love the old windows, especially the detail in the first one. It kind of reminds me of some I saw when we visited Washington D.C. over the summer. Architecture like that isn’t common in Arizona. Not enough history, I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

