GHOST

 

My words floated in the air
Unheard?
Should I wonder
when you could only touch me
through my photographs
if I have any
floating around.

To you
I am a phantom
hovering in your mind
our times,
shadows of forgotten  dreams

Life went on
for you and me
just like parallel lines.

Distance does that.

~~~

This was written for DVERSE’s Meeting the Bar Prompts this week, specifically the  Fifty-five Shades of Grey prompt.

A lot of things have happened back in my birth home:  relatives needing advice, my grandmother dying, among others.  Even though I try to be a part of that life the best way I can, I know that I can no longer fully participate and be present my family’s life, as they can be in mine.

Thank you for coming by.  Do check-out the other responses to the prompt.  🙂

13 comments

  1. nice nods to geometry there….parallel lines move in the same direction/have the same slope but never touch….and distance….this is a bit sad….hard too when you know you want to help but also have your life to live…

  2. distance does that.. i wish it would be easier to stay closer to the fam… i have relatives in bavaria that i used to visit often and we were quite close – but now – the distance – we don’t see each other much and the parallel lines…yep…

  3. Sometimes that distance is not geographical; it can be education, spirituality, all sorts of things that come between people who used to be close, and now aren’t; whose relationship used to vibrant and colourful is now increasingly grey.

Leave a Reply

