WINTER WISH

Sunlit weeds
How lovely it would be
if the sun does not sleep
on a cold winter’s day
then everything looks so dreary
and what’s to be bright winter white
is turned into sullen grey
Sunlit weeds2
The mist is all around
and I can’t help but be afraid
that somewhere, there resides
a phantom waiting,  waiting
to grab  my legs
bury them in the  frozen ground
with his cold, cold hands.
Winter Weeds3
How lovely will it be
when the sun shines anyway
though he, too, seems to be cold
in a cold winter’s day.
Winter flowers
He will make all glow
as though with inner fire
dispel all my fears
of some frozen spectre
Afternoon weeds

I want the sun’s rays
to pierce through my thick coat
give me the hope all I need
not to hibernate
like a bear inside
its winter fort.

~~~~~

Yesterday, I walked our dog and chanced upon the lowering sun.  It turned the frozen seed pods golden.  I had to take some pictures of them glowing from the sun.   The sunlight made the dreary space look pretty and lifts up the  sombre mood that often envelops me during winter.

DAILY POST:  OUTSIDEPOETRY JAM’s FIRE.

24 thoughts on “WINTER WISH”

  1. Lovely poem and photos, I love the way you captured the light in these photos Imelda and glad that the sunlight on such a cold, wintery day lifted your spirits 🙂

  2. it is bitter cold here as well…they say maybe sleet and freezing rain tonight…we shall see…hopefully he doesnt pull you down into the snow to freeze….just enjoy the glitter on the trees…..smiles.

  3. I wish for lots if sunshine too during Winter’s coldest days. Of going outdoors and just have fun no matter how cold. Beautiful pics and words. Happy New Year full of blessings to you & Family.

  4. This is so beautifully written, Imelda. I love your photos and your poem, and I have the same wish as you. Right now, it is rather warm here in the south of Germany – for this time of year, and the sun is shining, but I think we’ll be in for the cold side of winter, too 😉 Anyway, it’s nice to take the dog for a walk and just be outside and feel nature ..

    Kind regards and best wishes for a Happy and Healthy New Year to you and your family 🙂

    Ocean

Leave a Reply

