99

Her bony hands caressed
her husband’s face staring
from a dog-eared photograph.
Her wistful smile
broke through wrinkled cheeks
at her remembered love.
She shut her eyes,
sealed the memories
escaping from her mind.
There, she’d visit her beloved
once in every while
while awaiting that sleep
that would make her
and her dreams one.

She is my grandmother.  She is 98 years old.  She claims to be 99, however.  Becasue of her age, she is already in delicate health.  Yet, it is not only her health that is delicate.  She has a delicate temperament - she is so sensitive her eyes will mist at the drop of a hat, especially if that 'hat' has anything to do with her family.
R.I.P. April 14, 2014 – January 2, 2014
Nanay died almost a month after I originally published this piece.

~~~
A piece in exactly 55 words for For dVERSE Poets’ Pubs’ Form For All: Fifty-Five Shades of Grey.

32 comments

  1. (Wow I didn’t realize I haven’t been following you all this time. I apologize.)

    You painted a picture here. Delicate and full of warmth. The last three lines were beautiful.
    Flow on!

    • Thanks for the reblog, Regine. ๐Ÿ™‚ True, I think they are able to see life for what it is and separate from the material things that seem to dominate our current existence. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great use of your 55 and so evocative! It reminded me of my grandmother: her husband went missing in action during WW2, she had to raise three children on her own as the country turned Communist and her land was nationalised, never remarried, cried herself to sleep every night while waiting for news from her husband. I remember her wrinkled skin was the softest thing I had ever touched as a child, and I just loved stroking it.

    • Wow, what a courageous woman your Grandmother was. Even when these events happened so long ago, I can’t help but feel sad and sorry for what happened to her and her husband.

      This piece was inspired by my own grandmother who celebrated her 99th last April and by an account of my cousin about seeing our Grandma kissing the photo of our deceased Grandfatehr.

Leave a Reply

