STAY

Treetops

The overcast skies
drive autumn away too soon
I’ll hitch on its tail
that I can leap towards spring
where warmth never fades

Don’t chase after warmth.
It will come to you. Seasons
change. Be as you are.
Even the coldest winter
will thaw in your heart’s summer.

 

~~~

The short holiday break stole my inspirations for writing. 🙂  I am sharing a piece that I wrote several week’s ago for a Somonka themed  contest from Writer’s Digest.

I hope you are all having a great day.  December where we are is a little bit gray and dreary.

8 comments

  1. It’s strange isn’t it how we can lose our inspiration to write when we have a break – I wonder why that is? I love this delightful little poem Imelda 🙂

    We are having bad storms here in the UK right now, very windy and severe flood warnings in parts but we are ok here in Somerset so far.

  2. This is our first time spending December in Finland! We had been escaping to sunny Malaysia every year for the last 14 years. I feel very brave and very accomplished! 😀 Welcome back and thank you for sharing this wonderful poem Imelda! May your heart be as warm and as bright as summer through this season. And take your time to get back into the groove. I just know that when you’re ready to write again, you’ll be amazed at how rich your work has become from being away. Hugs my dear one! Sharon

    • Wow! This must be a special time for you and your family – seeing your second home this time of the year. It is quite the opposite for me. I have not seen Christmas in the Philippines for almost 10 years now. Sometimes, I really miss it because we celebrate Christmas differently.

      Thank you for coming by and for your encouraging words, Sharon. It is always a pleasure to see you here. You are one inspiring light. 🙂

    • Thanks, Janna. Yay! I take this chance to apologize for not being able to visit. Days are going crazy and somehow, my desire for writing (and reading), any sort – be it a poem or a comment or Christmas card message! – is at a low. I’ve been posting old stuff. 🙂 I’ll get around this spell one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

