BRUSSELS SPROUTS

Brussels Sprouts

Layer by layer I peeled their skins
to see for myself what lurks within
aphids and bugs and caterpillars, too
all those extra protein? Eeew!

So I washed and rinsed and peeled some more
until my hands are a little sore
until those jadeite heads got so small
there’ll be no trouble cooking them at all

Though Brussels Sprouts are truly delicious
preparing them can be quite tedious
So I wonder if they’ll be in the garden
once the planting season rolls in again.

 

~~~
For Day 7 of the 2013 NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE: HARDSHIP. I know it’s a rather silly take, but I spent a good part of the morning cleaning the sprouts from our garden. I was so overwhelmed by the task that I let them sit on the counter for two days and wilt a little before I had the courage to deal with them. πŸ™‚ I never knew how much work it required to clean the sprouts just by looking at those pretty little heads in the store. πŸ™‚ Thank you for coming by.

15 comments

Leave a Reply

