THE DEFENSE

 

The news reports say
“he’s as guilty as hell.”
What do they know?
They’ve not examined the evidence well.
Of course there are those who claim
they saw him fire the gun.
How could they be so sure
when they were all scared
and on the run?
Yes, yes. Granted. Many people died.
It’s really tragic, even I cried
especially when I saw those little children
I saw in them my own beloved child.

BUT, to pin my client
for this terrible crime?
No! I’m a servant of the law
I’ll make sure he will have his time
to defend himself. It is his right
given to all like him by legal might.
Of course, he is innocent
until proven otherwise.
Prosecution sure has evidence
to hang my client’s head
but good old Reasonable Doubt
will tear that into shreds.

~~~~~
This was written with Day 6 of NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE in mind. However, I think, I misinterpreted the prompt, i.e., “write a poem from the perspective of a person who either works at and/or visits a place you like to visit (that’s not yourself).” Anyway, it was fun writing this.
Thank you for coming by.

5 comments

  1. I like this piece a lot. Short, concise and clear. Some much is said in so few words. I feel the confusion and wanting a clear ‘easy’ answer.
    And in the end:
    “… but good old Reasonable Doubt
    will tear that into shreds…”
    A sense of being back at the beginning

    Thanks for following my blog.
    Be well,
    Arati

Leave a Reply

