TEDIUM

Tedium.
Everything’s tedium
from the rising of the sun
to its setting
everything is the same
as yesterday
as though time has stood still
or perhaps
time is looping –
the same song, the same refrain
It’s maddening!
a different tune is a welcome thing
but tedium
it’s all tedium
perhaps life is but routines
all that’s new
is exciting
until
they are swallowed by routines.
Tedium,
somewhere in your folds
must be life’s meaning.

~~~~~~~

Well, I am a little bored and grumpy (ier) today.Β  Hence, this rant of a poem.Β  However, now that I’ve written it, I feel so much better.Β  For dVERSE POETS’ PUB’s Open Link Night and November PAD CHAPBOOK Challenge Day: 5 (to write a concealed poem).

16 comments

  1. i get days i feel this way…that nothing ever changes…it does but i feel stuck…for some there is comfort in routine…and i guess for some things there is but i def need my random…smiles.

  2. Completely understand – November is making me feel like that too! Hard to remind myself (when beset by tedium ) that somewhere within its folds there is some meaning – neatly worded!

  3. I have to laugh… I was visiting friends over the weekend. They’ve been practicing music for an upcoming concert. They took out a piece titled Te Dium to play. My one friend said, to the other, “lets not play this one it is kind of boring”… I said, “yeah, well what do you expect considering the title?” They had never noticed this before I pointed it out.

  4. Life can become a series of repetitious boring routines if we let it. I am always seeking something new, (take a class, roadtrip, writing) ways to break the routine and monotony. You apparently have done just that by writing your poem, indicative that it is our effort to break the routine that gives us a vacation from the tedium if only for a little while. nice poem

    • Thanks, Dorianna. πŸ™‚ True. I find that hobbies break down the routine and provide some measure of accomplishment. I am just so glad that by writing about my frustration, I was able to get over it (at least for the day). πŸ™‚

  5. I had to chuckle at this – it doesn’t seem like you at all…the person who can capture the beauty of dew on a grass blade or the sunlight shining against an autumn leaf. I hope you are better now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

