FREEDOM

Artwork by JEANIE TOMANEK. This is Magpie Tales picture prompt for this week.

The lure of the stars she could resist no more
she unfolded her wings and set out to fly
though strong arms pinned her to the floor.

“The journey’s dangerous, stay where you are”
to their pleading voices, she learned to reply
the lure of the stars she could resist no more.

Towards   gathering clouds and threats of war
she shut her mind and covered  her eyes
though strong arms  pinned her to  the floor.

Her heart was sinking as in the days of yore
but kindred souls held her hopes up high
the lure of the stars she could resist no more.

Inch by inch, she pushed herself out  the door
’til at last her lips savored freedom’s cry
though strong arms pinned her to the floor.

With the world at her feet, she saw the shore –
shifting sands and strife, and  let out a sigh
the lure of the stars she could resist no more
though strong arms pinned her to the floor.

~~~~~

This photo made me think of a person very close to me.  The poem is a Villanelle (or so I hope it is)  Please click the photo for more responses.  Thank you very much for coming by. 🙂

15 thoughts on “FREEDOM”

  1. Well done Vinianelle. It’s charming and I’m impressed. “The lure of the stars” and the ideal of freedom make for a good through story … Don’t we all relate to this?

    1. Thanks, Jamie. 🙂 I think that a big part of the reason I was able to make a poem in this form is that I know the story well, and even then, I struggled with the words. I worked on this piece on and off, during my free time, the last week.

    1. Ha! Hablo UN POCO Espanol. 🙂 I can only remember a few phrases from my College Spanish courses. Non-use made me forget most of the things I learned. I can understand text a bit (with a lot of help from the dictionary). 🙂

Leave a Reply

