POETICS: SENT WITH A STAMP

This weekend, DVERSE wants us to write an epistolary poem, e.g., a letter poem. I tried to make a magnum opus (HA! 🙂 but the plates and pans spoke to me. Why not write about these things that bother me so, eh? 🙂

To the Pots and Pans

Why don’t you just disappear
when your job is done
Feel free to have a break
stay away from the kitchen.
Please don’t wait for me
to take care of you
Frankly, I have so much to do.
Do you hear those little boys
asking for this and that
and that little dog too
who now barks for what he wants.
They rank high in my priority
or their whining will make me crazy
(as if I’m not already!)
Then there’s the laundry
that needs to be done
I understand that being naked
is still not in fashion.
Then there are the games
I want to play
they are important
to keep my grump away.

But if you truly cannot
do away with my love
hang in there and wait
I’ll send you my husband.

~~~

Thank you for coming by. 🙂 Please visit the works of the talented writers of DVERSE POETS’ PUB.   🙂

8 comments

  1. I can honestly say I haven’t read a poem about pots and pans 🙂 I swear, there are some days in our house where they get washed and set out to dry, but not put away before they are needed again. It’s a never-ending process, I think!

  2. haha…that would be nice if all the dirty pans and dishes just disappeared and return clean and sparkling…oy… i would love that too… until they don’t, asking the hubs is not a bad idea as well.. mine luckily does a lot of kitchen work as well

  3. Yes, wouldn’t it be nice if those pots and pans would just disappear instead of being the nags they are. The ending made me smile….. Yes, send your husband!! Perfect solution indeed! Thanks for doing my prompt over at dVerse and also linking at Poets United!! Smiles.

  4. That was really great! Thanks for the smile! You know, I don’t mind doing the dishes, plates, cups, etc…but really, the pots and pans are just downright annoying aren’t they? I usually leave them with the excuse that they need to soak for awhile, but secretly, I’m hoping that my husband will come along and finish them up for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

